Backdrops for the top level

For the upcoming NER convention I felt that I should get some backdrops up for the third level. I have to say with this done, the layout looks a lot more like a….. well a Layout and less like some train shelves. The fact that you cannot see operators in the other aisle really enhances the apparent distance travelled on the layout – that Farmingdale is farther from Deer Park than it is.

That long two-step platform is perfect for working on the third deck without straining my shoulders, it brings everything to waist level. I recommend one if you have a higher top deck and you’re 5’6 like me.

After doing this now, and being pleased with the result I wish I had done it sooner. But this is the first time any layout I’ve built has made it this far. Live and learn!

Leave a comment